Cigar Review: La Flor Dominicana Air Bender Guerrero

 
Cigar: La Flor Dominicana Air Bender Guerrero
Binder: Dominican
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Tobacco: Dominican
Length: 6 1/4
Ring Gauge: 54
 
 
Through my various experiences as a cigar enthusiast, I’ve learned the hard way to always bring your own smokes when traveling out of state. You are leaving a lot of things to chance when you depend on a destination brick and mortar cigar operation for your smoking pleasure. Their humidification system might be faulty, they might not carry your favorite brands or it might be too much of a distance to make that trip from where you’re staying. Before my last trip to Miami, I made sure to pick at least five cigars in New York.
 
I happened to be in the wall street district and stopped by at Barclay Rex. I grabbed a couple of my go to cigars and asked for a recommendation from the clerk. His only mention was the La Flor Dominicana Air Bender. He mentioned that’s all he smokes now a days. So I didn’t blink and bought one.
 
The Air Bender is a beautifully constructed cigar. The wrapper is a deep reddish-brown and has a nice oily shine to it. The smell is delightful too. Once you get this cigar in your hands you really see where your money went.
 
Bandwith:
The band is pretty much consistent with the rest of the La Flor Dominicana line. The script logo is surrounded with swords on both sides. The band won’t really turn many heads, but if you are familiar with the LFD line you’ll know what to expect.
 
Opening:
As soon as you light this guy up, you know you’re in for a deep medium to full body smoke. The first impression is peppery but it’s not a big blast that will turn people away. The spice dies down quickly and you get a good mix of flavors that compliment each other very well. Plain and simple this a tasty cigar. The burn line is not perfect, but I’m so enjoying my time with the Air Bender that it’s a second thought to me at this point.
 
Seconds:
The flavor profile has slowed down to a medium body zone. Nevertheless it’s still very enjoyable. The taste is real earthy / woodsy; you really taste the tobacco with the Air Bender. This cigar is strong but doesn’t overpower you with its strength. My only complaint thus far is that the draw is a little too tight for my liking. It seems that I have to really pull hard on this cigar to get a good intake of smoke. If I don’t the cigar goes out quite easily.
 
The Finish:
Right now the draw has opened up a little and I’m having an easier time smoking the Air Bender. This is really a great smoke. The finish progresses from medium to full body and I’m getting some of that spice again. This cigar has a unique complexity to it. The taste is really smooth but you get a refined and controlled power with this cigar. After about an hour and half, I have smoked this stick to the nub which is rare for me. A true sign that this was a special cigar.
 
 
The Verdict:
Hands down the La Flor Dominicana Air Bender is one of my favorite smokes thus far for 2010. I had just enjoyed two bottles of Riesling with some pasta, and the Air Bender was a great after dinner cigar. The only thing stopping this cigar from a higher rating is its tight draw. Nevertheless LFD has another great addition to their already trustworthy brand. If you prefer milder stogies but are interested in trying something a bit more full, then this is my recommendation to you. You won’t be disappointed. 
 
 
4 out of 5 crowns

6 Responses to Cigar Review: La Flor Dominicana Air Bender Guerrero

  1. Wavy Maguire says:

    when i need a spicy cigar, the air bender is one of many i smoke… this is a great smoke from beginning to end… i am glad i put you on to these cigars…

  2. Lx says:

    I agree… this is a great cigar. I smoked my “Air Bender” on Friday. Wonderful 2 hour smoke.

  3. Wavy Maguire says:

    this should have gotten 4.5 or 5 crowns…

  4. Haven’t tried La Flor yet but will make sure to ask for the Air Bender.

  5. […] Dominicana company is synonymous for top quality cigars. My first experience with LFD was with the Air Bender and it was very impressive. Recently a good friend of mine Ade gifted me a LFD Factory Press III […]

  6. […] Dominicana company is synonymous for top quality cigars. My first experience with LFD was with the Air Bender and it was very impressive. Recently a good friend of mine Ade gifted me a LFD Factory Press III […]

Leave a comment